UPAA Lifetime Achievement awardees known

The University of the Philippines Alumni Association (UPAA) celebrating its Centennial this year, has announced the 11 awardees for the Lifetime Distinguished Achievements category in the 2013 UP General Alumni-Faculty Homecoming and Reunion set on June 22.

Dr. Rhodora V. Azanza (MS’79; PhD’86), fondly called the “Red Tide Lady,” has made pioneering research on seaweeds and microalgal biology, coastal environment management and seafood safety.

Prof. Benjamin H. Cervantes (AB’62) is a multi-awarded actor, screen and stage director.

Dr. Nora J. Cruz-Quebral (AB’50 magna cum laude), called the “Mother of Development Communication” paved the way for it to become an academic discipline.

Dr. Isidoro P. David (BSA’63 cum laude; MS’66) is the first Filipino statistician to be honoured by the International Statistical Institute for his achievements in statistics and the promotion of best statistical practices.

Entomologist Dr. Aida C. Decena-Solsoloy (BSST’74; MS’85; PhD’92) is one of the country’s leading experts in technology development for pest management.

Eco warrior Ms. Luz Escalante-Sabas (MA’62; MAT’79) is the co-founder of the Zero Waste Recycling Movement of the Philippines, training countless people across the country on zero waste management.

Banker Edgardo B. Espiritu (ROTC’56; LLB’58) has had a long career in banking and finance, highlighted by his stint as Finance Secretary and World Bank Governor for the Philippines.

Dr. Augusto D. Litonjua (AA’51 (with high honors); MD’56) has been dubbed the “Father of Philippine Endocrinology” and one of the country’s leading doctors in diabetes care and treatment.

Atty. Estelito P. Mendoza (AA’48; ROTC’52; LLB’52 cum laude) heads his own firm, serves as director for many publicly listed corporations and is also a professorial lecturer at the UP College of Law.

Public Works and Highways Sec. Rogelio L. Singson (BSIE’71) is the former chairman and president of the Bases Conversion Development Authority who pushed for greater public-private partnerships for development.

Mrs. Nelia Teodoro-Gonzalez (BSA’44; CGM’77) became one the country’s first top female executives and has inspired generations of women across Southeast Asia for her business acumen.

Distinguished alumni awards will also be given to BGen. Marcelo B. Javier, Mr.  Rozel Alexander M. Santos for Community Empowerment; Dr. Abelardo Apollo I. David, Jr. and Annie L. Oro-Ty for Community Service; Luis E. Yee, Jr. for Culture and the Arts; Dr. Elena M. Bautista-Sparrow for Educational Innovation; Engr. Ramon I. Castillo for Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation; Forester Arsenio B. Ella for Environmental Conservation and Sustainable Development; Sen. Lorna Regina B. Legarda  for Environmental Protection and Climate Change Adaption; Prof. Aurora Javate-de Dios and Dr. Carolyn C. Israel-Sobritchea for Gender Equality and Women Empowerment; Dr. Milton B. Amayun for Global Public Health; Dr. Leonor Magtolis-Briones and Sen. Jose P. Ejercito for Good Governance; Justice Jose P. Perez for Judiciary; Dr. Sukarno D. Tanggol for Peace and Social Cohesion; Dr. Edsel Maurice T. Salvaña for Public Health Promotion; Atty. Simeon V. Marcelo for Public Service and for Science and Technology:   Dr. Silvestre C. Andales, Dr. Josefino C. Comiso, Engr. Hilary L. de Leon, Mr. Manuel M. Gamboa, and Dr. Windell L. Rivera.

The UPAA will also be handing the Distinguished Service Award for an Alumnus/Alumna, the Distinguished Service Award for an Alumni Chapter, the Presidential Awardees, the Presidential Award for Past UPAA Presidents and the Multi-Generation U.P. Alumni Family Recognition.

For inquiries, please contact the UPAA Secretariat at (632) 920-6868, (632) 920-6871, (632) 920-6875 or email upalumn@yahoo.com. Visit the UPAA website http://www.upalumni.ph for complete details.

WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin